Final round Coed Y Brenin 2015

By 1st December 2015News, News, Press Release

10895_332000917008814_6161081311576813829_n (1)

What can I say but what a weekend! well done to everyone who raced in some of the gnarliest weather not seen since the last Gravity Enduro race at Coed Y Brenin in 2012! at least it was warmer this time…

I think you’ll agree that Coed Y Brenin is a fantastic venue for these races and hopefully we’ll return there in the future.

A massive thank you to all the Marshals!, you did an amazing job on Sunday, in terrible conditions and every one of you was smiling before and after…Thank you!!!!

Chris Roberts and his crew from Action Sports Timing for faultless timing of the event and all the other rounds this year.

Andy Braund of NRW for all his help since February to get everything ready so that we could run these trails! This was the first time that stage 2 (Adams Family) had ever been used in competition so thank you Andy for the opportunity and the use of this amazing venue.

Remote Medical Services,  always a fantastic professional crew and for the first time this year not one injury to report!! (is this a first?)

Chris Jones for helping me with take down on Monday in what were the wettest windiest conditions i’ve ever worked in, the Tango suit was out in force for Chris, Cheers dude.

So to racing….We had 186 riders compete on the day after the weather on Saturday put a fair few off. Come Sunday we were blessed with no rain but very strong winds which would make certain parts of stages a bit of a battle against the elements… After 3 stages it was Hywel Sylvester of Team Skene in the masters Category who beat everyone to the fastest time of the day in 15 minutes 6 seconds! He won every single stage by some margin, good work.

In the ladies, Becky Cook ( Tred-Shot racing team ) dominated with nearly a 2 minute lead over 2nd place to take the fastest time of the day in 17 minutes 54 seconds.

We also crowned the series champions, apologies for the delay in getting the points done but we needed to make sure they were right on the night!

Here are your Welsh Gravity Enduro Series champions for 2015….

Elite Male: Leon Rosser of Bike Park Wales

Elite Female: Robyn Walton of The Development

U18 Men: Cai Grocott of Bike Park Wales

Senior Men: Nikki Whiles of Team Skene

Masters: Hywel Sylvester of Team Skene

Veteran: John Morgan of Cwmcarn Paragons

Grand Veteran: Gary Allen 

Women: Sophie Hemming

Hardtail: Ben Pinnick of Bird Cycleworks

E-bike: Chris Groves of Race Co Cycles

Full results on Roots and Rain are here

Photos on Roots and Rain are here

And finally huge thank you to our sponsors for the year, have a look at the website for dates and venues of next years races… 2016 Welsh Gravity Enduro Mash Up series:

enve     lb

smithrace co logo

Bird bikes logo           Cycleplan logo

AirshotBeics breninPS cyclestrailheadlogo-590x159

mini-enduro ActionSportsTiming-blk